Go to whole of WA Government search

Kimberley Schools Project


The Kimberley Schools Project (KSP) will provide $25 million of Royalties for Regions funding to accelerate and intensify existing strategies to improve educational outcomes, and so underpin broader economic and social development in the region.

Whilst there are pockets of educational excellence in the Kimberley, student outcomes lag behind those of other regions. In order to close the gap in educational outcomes, the project seeks to: empower communities outside the school gates and more effectively target resources to teachers and principals inside the school gates.

The need for the project was initially identified in the Kimberley Development Commission’s 2036 and Beyond: A Regional Investment Blueprint for the Kimberley. The project is also one of ten priority actions in the Regional Services Reform Unit’s Resilient Families, Stronger Communities roadmap.

For further information on the project, please contact Mark Williams, Manager, Kimberley Schools Project.

Mark Williams
Kimberley Schools Project
10 Coghlan Street Broome WA 6725
t (08) 9192 0835 m 0436 602 841
e mark.williams@education.wa.edu.au

Information Sheet

Project Details:

Start date: September 2016

End date: December 2019

Project partners: Department of Education, Catholic Education, Association of Independent Schools WA  Kimberley Development Commission, Regional Services Reform Unit, Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development (DPIRD)

The first 10 schools participating in the Kimberley Schools Project in 2018 are:

  • Bayulu Remote Community School (Public School);
  • Dawul Remote Community School (Public School);
  • Derby District High School (Public School);
  • Djugerari Remote Community School (Public School);
  • Kalumburu Remote Community School (Public School);
  • Looma Remote Community School (Public School);
  • La Grange Remote Community School (Public School);
  • Nyikina Mangala Community School (Independent School);
  • Wangkatjungka Remote Community School (Public School); and
  • Wyndham District High School (Public School).

The nine schools joining the Kimberley Schools Project in Term 1, 2019 are:

  • Broome Primary School (Public School);
  • Broome North Primary School (Public School);
  • Halls Creek District High School (Public School);
  • Kununurra District High School (Public School);
  • Muludja Remote Community School (Public School);
  • Ngalapita Remote Community School (Public School);
  • Roebuck Primary School (Public School);
  • Wananami Remote Community School (Public School); and
  • Warlawurru Catholic School (Catholic School).


Page last updated: Thu Mar 7 2019 1:49:14 PM

Contact Us

Don't hesitate to call the Kimberley Development Commission with any queries or comments.

Send an Enquiry

7 Ebony Street (PO Box 620)
Kununurra Western Australia 6743

T: +61 8 9148 2100

Upstairs: Cnr Napier & Dampier Terrace (PO Box 172)
Broome, Western Australia 6725

T: +61 8 9194 3000

Derby Western Australia 6728

T: +61 8 9194 3000 (Broome)